Nurse Aide (CNA) Course
The Clarkson College Nurse Aide (CNA) course offers prepares non-licensed individuals to provide safe, effective and caring services to patients, residents and clients in a variety of health care settings as a certified nursing assistant (CNA). This rigorous, short-term course provides classroom instruction, as well as practice of clinical skills in the classroom lab setting and in an actual clinical facility. Students learn how to be a contributing member of the health care team, effectively communicate and interact with patients and coworkers, practice infection control, provide personal care, and assist clients with restoration and rehabilitation.
Clinical opportunities are provided within the course schedule at area long-term care facilities. Navy blue scrubs, a watch with a second hand and clean, closed toe shoes are required. Time of clinical sessions may differ from the classroom sessions. Students are provided a complete schedule of dates and times at registration.
This is a non-credit Professional Development course. College credit is not provided.
The Clarkson College Nurse Aide (CNA) Course is approved by the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services and meets all requirements set forth by the State of Nebraska for nurse aide (CNA) training.
- The state of Nebraska requires that a student must be 16 years old and be able to read, write, speak and understand the English language.
- Applicants need to be aware of the eligibility requirements for placement on the state registry and/or for employment. Persons with a criminal record, substance abuse problems or health problems that would interfere with safe practices may be ineligible for placement on the state registry or for employment.
- Anyone with an open court case should not register until that case is resolved. This does include misdemeanor traffic citations or anything requiring a court appearance.
- Students need to be in good health and be able to lift 50 pounds throughout the entire class and clinical sessions.
- At the first class session, applicants will need to provide proof of current (within 12 months of clinical) PPD (Mantoux TB skin test).
Daytime course is completed in approximately six weeks.
Evening course is completed in approximately eight weeks.
Class sessions do not meet every day of the week.
Daytime and evening classes are available. View the Nurse Aide course schedule
"Hartman's Nursing Assistant Care: The Basics, 3rd edition." Textbook is provided at first class session and is included in course tuition.
$495 payable by cash, money order or credit card (VISA, MC, Discover) at time of registration. Make checks payable to: Clarkson College Office of Professional Development. Course fee includes:
- Textbook and workbook (a $35 value)
- Course handouts and materials
- State written and skills competency examinations (a $60 value)
Course Completion Certificate
A Clarkson College certificate of course completion is provided to those individuals who meet all requirements for successful completion. An individual’s name is submitted to the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services for placement on the Nurse Aide Registry upon passing both the Nebraska State Written and Skills Competency Examinations.
All class sessions are held at Clarkson College, located on 42nd and Douglas Streets in Omaha, Neb.
Cancellation Policy & Refund Information
If you cannot attend the Nurse Aide course you registered for, you must fill out a Professional Development Drop/Cancellation form. Paperwork must be completed, signed and returned to the Professional Development office before you can be officially dropped from the class. You will be responsible for paying the course fee if you do not drop/cancel the course within the cancellation guidelines. The drop/cancellation refund schedule is as follows:
- Drop/Cancellation form received five or more business days prior to the class start date will receive a refund minus a 10 percent withdrawal fee.
- Drop/Cancellation form received four or less business days prior to the class start date will receive no refund.
- A refund is not provided nor is a transfer allowed for failure to attend or not meeting course completion requirements.
- All refunds will be sent to the payee address on file within 60 days.
- If course fee was paid with a credit card, a refund is issued to the same credit card.
Third Party Payments
Students receiving aid from a third party source (i.e. Workforce Development, Vocational Rehabilitation, etc.) are responsible for all tuition and late fees if payment is not made by the third party for whatever reason.